DAI SALUTES AND WARMLY CONGRATULATES OUR CURRENT STUDENT João Polido (DAI, 2022) AND OUR ALUMNUS Hasan Özgür Top (DAI, 2020) WITH THEIR ARTISTIC RESEARCH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE 12th BERLIN BIENNALE, which has announced the participation of eighty-two artists and collectives. The event, scheduled to take place between June 11 and September 18 of this year, is being curated by interdisciplinary French-Algerian artist Kader Attia and is titled “Still Present!” The Biennale will span a half-dozen locations including Akademie der Künste, Hamburger Bahnhof, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, and Stasi Headquarters. The full list of artist names is to be found here.

| tag: Berlin

"The place to which we have arrived today is not by chance: it is the result of historical formations constructed over centuries. In their egoism, modern Western societies have taken their own liberal character for granted, falsely assuming that the balance between free trade and universal suffrage guarantees a self-regulating system of universal democratic values. The dystopian society we have inherited from this utopian promise produces chaos but denies responsibility for it. In fact, the present world is the way it is because it carries all of the wounds accumulated throughout the history of Western modernity. Unrepaired, they continue to haunt our societies."

Find the Curatorial Statement on


A list of participating artists is below.

Basel Abbas and Ruanne Abou-Rahme

Sajjad Abbas

Asim Abdulaziz

Lawrence Abu Hamdan

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay

Haig Aivazian

Noel W Anderson

Veda Arachchige

Ngô Thành Bắc

Enrico Baj, Roberto Crippa, Gianni Dova, Erró, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Antonio Recalcati

Sammy Baloji

Taysir Batniji

Zach Blas

Ammar Bouras

Imani Jacqueline Brown

Maithu Bùi

Mayuri Chari

David Chavalarias

Clément Cogitore

DAAR – Sandi Hilal and Alessandro Petti

Đào Châu Hải

Mónica de Miranda

Binta Diaw

Myriam El Haïk

Jihan El-Tahri

Omer Fast

Simone Fattal

Forensic Architecture

Taloi Havini

Zuzanna Hertzberg

Sven Johne

Lamia Joreige

Prabhakar Kamble

Layth Kareem

Amal Kenawy

Dubréus Lhérisson

Dana Levy

Olivier Marboeuf

Moses März

Raed Mutar

Florian Sông Nguyễn

Tammy Nguyen

Tuấn Andrew Nguyễn

Thùy-Hân Nguyễn-Chí

Mai Nguyễn-Long

Jeneen Frei Njootli

Temitayo Ogunbiyi

Khandakar Ohida

Uriel Orlow

Driss Ouadahi

Mathieu Pernot

PEROU – Pôle d’Exploration des Ressources Urbaines

Susana Pilar

Deneth Piumakshi

João Polido

Marta Popivoda/Ana Vujanović

Alex Prager

Calida Garcia Rawles

Elske Rosenfeld

Christine Safatly

The School of Mutants (Stéphane Verlet Bottéro, Hamedine Kane, Lou Mo, Valérie Osouf), Boris Raux)

Susan Schuppli

Praneet Soi

Tejswini Narayan Sonawane

Hasan Özgür Top

Mila Turajlić

Yuyan Wang

Birender Yadav

Nil Yalter

Etinosa Yvonne