Ongoing ~ Factory 2.0: COUNCIL (DAI's consultative student body)

(formerly the Curriculum Group a.k.a the student led Crisis Team)

The COUNCIL acts as a valve between the student body and DAI crew in the management and delivery of the program's curriculum at large, including exam regulations and module requirements.We meet once a month during the DAI week and then again with the director to report on and discuss the development of the curriculum, and to raise concerns, comments and suggestions brought forward by the student body. All these can be communicated via email, online forms, in person or at the General Assembly held during the DAI Week. The purpose of the group is to ensure there is a platform for efficient and actionable feedback related to the delivery of the syllabus. In addition, it is to ensure that requirements and regulations are being upheld by the program administrators, tutors and students. 

The COUNCIL 2020-2021 is thus an assembly of student "consultants", thinking together with Gabriëlle (often joined by Rik and if necessary by Florian or Nikos or Jacq or Peter otherwise) about all things DAI: past, future, mostly present. While the council is particularly focused on the now experience of the DAI students, the council also acts as our student think tank - to reflect on the past and look toward how DAI will be shaped in the future. It's a place for facilitated discussion, imagination, and action as we continue to develop the DAI.

Each COOP study group must delegate two students, whose presence during meetings can be alternating. This means: all members of the DAI STUDENT COUNCIL must be committed to regular, pre-scheduled meetings, but not all members have to be present every time (as long as they read the minutes before joining the next meeting). Not a member but interested in joining a meeting ? You are welcome, but you as well must commit to reading the minutes of the previous session.

If you want to bring a specific topic to the agenda of the upcoming meeting you will have to contact Ioana, chair and Marika, secretary several days ahead of the actual gathering:

You will be invited to present and explain your case or question or concern and to engage in a discussion with those present at the meeting.

Ad hoc topics can be briefly brought forward during the table round at the end of the meeting.

2020-2021 Chair:

Ioana Lupascu till April 15, 2022

Kari Rosenfeld till April 15, 2021                                                                                                

2020 -2021 Secretary:

Marika Vandekraats till April 15, 2022

Csilla Klenyanszki till April 15, 2021  

2020 - 2021 Members:

Mia van den Bos, Marika Vandekraats, Michael Fischer, Hubert Gromny, Felix Bahret, Raffia Li, Niccolò Masini, Mirjam Steffen, Clara Winter, Derek MF Di Fabio, Ioana Lupascu, Dylan Spencer-Davidson, Flip Driest and Marika Vandekraats (members Academy Council Graduate Community / Deelraad), Artúr van Balen (member Representative Council ArtEZ / Medezeggenschapsraad).


The DAI facilitates the COUNCIL in several ways:

As of December 2020 DAI has reserved a budget to pay a small fee to the Chair and the secretary of the COUNCIL. Half of all scheduled COUNCIL meetings are bound to take place during every regular DAI Week and DAI will take care to always secure a suitable space for in flesh meeting (Covid permitting). The other half will be organised on line by the chair and the secretary of the COUNCIL.  

COUNCIL is part of the Syllabus 2021-2022 and embedded in curriculum component Factory 2.0, as such participation is credited with ECTS.  

See also: How is the DAI currently embedded in the ArtEZ University of the Arts and how is participation organised ?


Gatherings are organized in-and outside DAI Weeks.

See the schedule here


2019-2020: Vita Buyvid, Fran Hawker, Assem Hendawi, Erato Tzavara, Flip Driest, Kari Rosenfeld, Csilla Klenyanszki, line kramer. Chair: Nine Postma. 

2018-2019: Lukas Hoffmann,  Samantha McCulloch, Vita Buyvid, Frances Hawker, Assem Hendawi and Nine Postma Chair: Edel O'Reilly

2017-2018: Lukas Hoffmann, Edel O'Reilly, Samantha McCulloch, Rabea Ridlhammer, Nina Støttrup Larsen, Ellen de Medeiros Nunes