Friday 3 July: End of the Year Show Werkplaats Typografie at Film Theatre De Uitkijk ~ Perceiving at Low Speed. A screening and a lecture.

27.06.15 | tag: Amsterdam


Friday 3 July 2015
Film Theatre De Uitkijk
Prinsengracht 452, Amsterdam


lecture by Emmet Byrne, Walker Art Center
Oblique Content Strategies

Lecture starts at 17:00
Screenings start at 16:00, 18:00, 19.00, 20:00, 21:00 and Saturday 4 July at 11:00
Seating is limited. Please reserve your seat in advance by sending an e-mail
with your preferred time to

Perceiving at Low Speed

Could you imagine a display where contemporary graphic design works can co-exist domestically?
With the proposition of this year’s end of the year show being based on the phenomenon
of Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR), it was bound to happen.

ASMR is an experience some people feel, almost like a gentle massage to your head or body.
It is as though your sensory organs pick up prompts, then signals cascade through another part
or sensory organ, sending out triggers throughout the body. ASMR has a very calming
and relaxing effect. The ASMR moderator’s appearance and her captivating voice determine
the meditative pace to affect the viewers’ perception.

Experience it by observing how our work becomes inherently collective: almost physical, tactile,
fluid and slow in the darkness of the film theatre auditorium.

In order to understand the objects shown in the video, you need to acknowledge that every artwork
is in the position of a prop here. It is about co-existence. Values based on things being fast and slow
may not be the way to formulate judgements that could indicate “high” or “low” quality.

Let your mind go with the flow of the emancipation of the unconscious and dance in limbo by going
deeper to explore processes and forms. Let yourself circulate through various contexts.

Perceive at low speed.

Year 15
Amir Avraham, Fred Cave, Linda Dostálková, Yana Foqué,
Virginie Gauthier, Fay Kolokytha, Jungmyung Lee, Iván Martínez Lopéz,
María Jimena Sánchez Zambrano

Year 16
Ronja Andersen, Olya Domoradova, Meg Forsyth, Sarah Käsmayr,
Josse Pyl, Nerijus Rimkus, Nora Turato, Maud Vervenne, Caroline Wolewinski

ASMR Guide: Jana Plodková
Sound Supervisor: Hrvoje Pelicarić
Music and Photography: Nora Turato
Graphic Design: Meg Forsyth, Josse Pyl, Nora Turato
Executive Producer: Werkplaats Typografie
Director of Photography: Daniel Walwin
Director and Post Production: Nicholas Riis
Curator: Linda Dostálková

© Werkplaats Typografie, ArtEZ