Ute Meta Bauer


Founding Director, NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore
Professor, Nanyang Technological University, School of Art, Design and Media

Ute Meta Bauer was educated at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Hamburg. Currently Founding Director of the NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore (NTU CCA Singapore) at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), she formerly was Associate Professor in the Department of Architecture at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Cambridge, where she also served as Founding Director of the MIT Program in Art, Culture, and Technology (2005-2012). From 2012–2013, she was the Dean of Fine Art at the Royal College of Art, London, UK. Bauer was Co-Curator for Documenta11 (2001/2002) and Artistic Director for the 3rd Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art (2004). As Founding Director of the Office for Contemporary Art Norway (2002-05) she was also Commissioner for the Nordic Pavilion at the 50th Venice Biennale (2003) and the Norwegian contribution for the 26th São Paulo Biennale (2004). Most recently in 2015, she co-curated with MIT List Centre for Visual Art Director Paul Ha the US Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale presenting eminent artist Joan Jonas, the exhibition was honored with a special mention. For NTU CCA Singapore, she curated Paradise Lost (with Anca Rujoiu) featuring Zarina Bhimji, Trinh T. Minh-ha and Fiona Tan; Theatrical Fields – Critical Strategies in Performance, Film and Video (with Anca Rujoiu, commissioned by Bildmuseet Umeå, Sweden), Yang Fudong: Incidental Scripts (with Khim Ong), Simryn Gill: Hugging the Shore (with Anca Rujoiu) and Allan Sekula: Fish Story, to be continued (with Anca Rujoiu). Bauer has edited numerous publications in the field of contemporary art, most recently Intellectual Birdhouse, Artistic Practice as Research (co-edited with Florian Dombois, Michael Schwab and Claudia Mareis, 2012), World Biennale Forum No 1 – Shifting Gravity (co-edited with Hou Hanru) and AR – Artistic Research (co-edited with Thomas D. Trummer), both 2013.